The Institute for Advanced Architecture of Catalonia (IAAC) wants to support the development of the field of robotics and digital fabrication by training experts who will contribute to rethinking the future of the construction industry. For this reason, IAAC and its industry collaborators offer a partial scholarship to study in IAAC’s Master in Robotics and Advanced Construction which begins in October 2023!

The objective of this initiative is to train a new generation of interdisciplinary professionals who are capable of facing our growing need for a more sustainable and optimised construction eco-system. Through the use of advanced technologies and continuous hands-on experiments, and in collaboration with the industry partners, the scholarship recipient will work on the emerging design and market opportunities arising from novel robotic and advanced manufacturing systems.

If you have a bachelor’s degree and you are enthusiastic about robotics, construction, and advanced technologies, then this is your master’s degree! You have until March 31st to send your scholarship application!

About the Master

The IAAC’s Master in Robotics and Advanced Construction offers an international and multidisciplinary environment where engineers, designers, architects, craftsmen, academics and industry partners have the opportunity to rethink the construction industry. The master will take place in the Institute for Advanced Architecture of Catalonia, a creative space fully equipped with the most recent manufacturing technologies, in Barcelona, an international hub for innovation in a traditionally rich industrial region.

Who can participate?

In order to participate, candidates interested in the Industry Scholarship must fulfill the Eligibility Criteria as described in the IAAC Guide for Applicants.

Description of the Scholarship

Industry Scholarship Award:
20%, 30% and 50% Partial Scholarships on the tuition fee.
Normal tuition fee for non-scholarship positions is:
MRAC01: Non-EU: 19.875€ // EU: 16.500€ // Spanish: 9.938€
MRAC02: Non-EU: 31.800€ // EU: 26.400€ // Spanish: 15.900€

Duration of the program:
MRAC01: 9 Months – From October 2023 to June 2024
MRAC02: 18 Months – From October 2023 to June 2025 – Thesis Final Submission: September 2025

Language of the Master:

Submission Deadline:
31st March 2023 – 23:59 (CET)

How to apply for the scholarship?

To apply, each candidate should visit the Application Portal, register their profile, and fill out the IAAC Industry Scholarships form. In the programme selection they should select either MRAC01 or MRAC02 as their programme of interest and then proceed to fill out the necessary personal information as well as uploading the mandatory supporting documents.

The full list of mandatory supporting documents to submit for the Industry Scholarship are the following:

1) Letter of intent written in English
2) A Portfolio showcasing samples of your work in English
3) CV (Curriculum Vitae/ Resume).
4) Two letters of recommendation written in English
5) A scanned copy of your bachelor’s diploma.
6) A copy of your valid passport (or I.D. if you are a citizen of a member state of the EU.)

Important: A 50€ Application fee (non-refundable) is to be paid to submit your application.

For more detailed information on the Supporting Documents listed above please consult the IAAC Guide for Applicants.

Competition Deadlines

Submission Deadline: 31st March 2023 – 23:59 (CET)
Winners announced within 17th April 2023 (CET)

Selection and Evaluation Process

Once an application is received, the Admissions Coordinator will start reviewing the submitted applications to check whether they meet all eligibility requirements. Once the eligibility check is completed, Applicants will be informed of the outcome by email.

For more information refer to the IAAC Guide for Applicants.

The Selection Committee

The Jury will be integrated by master programme Directors, faculty and special guests and professionals coming from IAAC’s Industry Partners network.