The Institute for Advanced Architecture of Catalonia – IAAC wants to support the development of new architectural approaches by training professionals to take informed, creative and innovative actions in order to respond to the challenges of today. For this reason, IAAC and its industry collaborators offer a partial scholarship to study in IAAC’s online Master in Advanced Computation for Architecture and Design – MaCAD which begins in October 2024! You have until June 30th to send your scholarship application.

About the Master

Are you interested in becoming an expert in using the most up-to-date digital software to simulate, analyze, and optimize digital data in architecture? The MaCAD programme can help you gain both theoretical and practical knowledge of computational design. Using a Data-Driven approach, a Learning-by-Doing methodology, and a Design-by-Research methodology, this master’s programme offers a distinctive online educational experience that creates a “virtual” environment with a real-class feel. The learning process is continuous, interactive, and collaborative.

Who can participate?

In order to participate, candidates interested in the Industry Scholarship must fulfill the Eligibility Criteria as described in the IAAC Guide for Applicants.

Applicants who have already been accepted and/or enrolled to the Master in Advanced Computation for Architecture & Design are not eligible to participate.

Description of the Scholarship

Industry Scholarship Award:
20%, 30% and 50% Partial Scholarships on the tuition fee.
Normal tuition fee for non-scholarship positions is: 12.000€

Duration of the programme:
10 months – From October 2024 to July 2025 – Thesis submission – September 2025

Language of the Master:

Submission Deadline:
30th June 2024 – 23:59 (CEST)

How to apply for the scholarship?

To apply, each candidate should visit the Application Portal, register their profile, and fill out the IAAC Industry Scholarships form. In the programme selection they should select MaCAD as their programme of interest and then proceed to fill out the necessary personal information as well as uploading the mandatory supporting documents.

The full list of mandatory supporting documents to submit for the Industry Scholarship are the following:

1) Letter of intent written in English
2) A Portfolio showcasing samples of your work in English
3) CV (Curriculum Vitae/ Resume).
4) Two letters of recommendation written in English
5) A scanned copy of your bachelor’s diploma.
6) A copy of your valid passport (or I.D. if you are a citizen of a member state of the EU.)

Important: A 50€ Application fee (non-refundable) is to be paid to submit your application.

For more detailed information on the Supporting Documents listed above please consult the IAAC Guide for Applicants.

Competition Deadlines

Submission Deadline: 30th June 2024 – 23:59 (CEST)
Winners announced within July 2024 (CEST)

Selection and Evaluation Process

Once an application is received, the admissions team will review the submitted documentation to confirm eligibility requirements. Once the eligibility check is completed, applicants will be invited to an admission interview with the masters academic team. After these two instances, an evaluation of the candidacy will be carried out and a decision will be made regarding acceptance into the program and the granting of the scholarship.

For more information refer to the IAAC Guide for Applicants.

The Selection Committee

The Jury will be integrated by master programme Directors, faculty and special guests and professionals coming from IAAC’s Industry Partners network.