The Collserola natural park, in the surroundings of Barcelona, is the setting for The Voxel project, produced by a team made up of students, professionals, and experts from the Master in Advanced Ecological Buildings and Biocities (MAEBB), held at of Valldaura Labs. It is a quarantine cabin designed for the self-confinement of one occupant. The project was designed entirely under quarantine conditions and is an architectural response to the current crisis.

The Voxel was designed and built during the MAEBB 2019-2020 master’s degree, with the consultancy of a group of experts formed by the directors of the master’s degree Daniel Ibáñez and Vicente Guallart, the energy expert Oscar Aceves, the water expert Jochen Scheerer, and the architects Elena Orte and Guillermo Sevillano, among others. It was designed and built in just 5 months, turning the dense forest of Collserola, Barcelona, into the home of a truly ambitious project in the area of ecological architecture.

Following the various stages of deep research and design development stages, we followed on to the final design by dividing the various aspects of the quarantine cabin as individual design challenges. each individual aspect of the design is interrelated with the other aspects and forms a symbiotic relationship with each other to form a seamless functioning system.

The interior of the Voxel follows the basic concept of Fixed-Dynamic-Fluid which invites the adaptability of the space according to different users while providing all the comforts of a house in a structured manner.

The Project is also featured here on Arch DailyDesignboom and the New York Times.

For full details about the Voxel Cabin, view the full articles on the IAACBlog website.

Learn more about our Master in Advanced Ecological Buildings and Biocities (MAEBB) here. Next application deadline is March 31st, 2021.

Alexander Hadley
Anfisa Mishchenko
Ay?e Sena Kocao?lu
Camille Julienne Garnier Mc Cormick
Dania Suheil Fouad Aburouss
Ester Camps Bastida
Filippo Vegezzi
Giada Mirizzi
Juan Gabriel Secondo
Maitri Joy Uka
Maria Camila Fajardo Russi
Nathalie Botbol D’Angiolillo
Shreya Sharma
Yue Zhang
Zhiqian Liu
Rafael Abboud
Irene Rodriguez Perez
Daniel Nahmias

Bruno Ganem
Layth Sidiq
Kya Kerner
Luis Leveri
Akshay Mhanmunkar

Vicente Guallart
Daniel Ibañez

Michael Salka

Laia Pifarré

Valldaura Labs

Adrià Goula

Oscar Aceves
Jochen Scheerer
Miquel Rodriguez
Elena Orte
Guillermo Sevillano
Eduardo Chamorro
David Valldeoriola
Miguel Nevado
Jordi Part
Gustavo Escudero